Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content
Navigate Up
Sign In


 Superintendent's Parent Advisory Council

The Superintendent's Parent Advisory Council

What is a Parent Advisory Council (PAC)?

The State School Superintendent’s Parent Advisory Council is a group of parents from across the state that provides input on new policies, projects, and materials that impact students and their families. Advisory Council members are particularly focused on how to increase parent and family engagement to ensure student academic success. Members serve as advisors and meet with the State School Superintendent several times throughout their two-year term.

Who Serves on the PAC?

There are approximately 24 PAC members whose participation is staggered in two-year terms. In addition to the PAC members, the winners of the annual Parent Leadership Awards​​ are invited to be honorary PAC members for one year. To include community partnerships, there are six community organizations selected to participate on the PAC.

How Are Parents Nominated to Serve on the PAC?

Parents are nominated to serve on the PAC by their local school districts at the beginning of each school year. A principal of a Georgia Title I school may nominate a parent to represent the school and the district. Only one nomination per school district is accepted. PAC members are chosen based on their capacity to lead, current levels of involvement in their child's school, and responses to application questions. 

2016-2017 PAC Members

Frank Bennett Bartow County School System​
Margaret A. Bloodworth Pulaski County School District​
Anna Bullard Toombs County Schools
Chris Carey Rome City School District​
Chris Clegg Lincoln County Schools
John D. Cline Cherokee County School District​
Rhonda DeFrancesco Rockdale County Public Schools​
Ruth Edwards Stewart County School District​
Kevin Gray Baldwin County Schools
Carol F. Harrell Dougherty County School System
Maria Hernandez Coweta County School System
L. Michelle Hinton  DeKalb County School District
Michelle Knight Griffin-Spalding County School System
Ashley Moore Burke County Public Schools
Melissa Moore Marietta City Schools
Aurelia Moss Effingham County School District 
Amy Peterson State Schools (Georgia School for the Deaf)
Estelle Ramos Savannah-Chatham County Public Schools
Tiffany Roath Fannin County School System
Jennifer Thomas Paulding County School District
Allen Thornhill, Jr. Thomas County School District
LaVesta Washington Fayette County School System
Jeanine Webster Tift County School District
Jack Yarbrough Ware County Schools​

2016 Georgia Parent Leadership Award Winners

Sherry Chadwick
Forsyth County Schools
​Tara Donaldson ​Camden County Schools
Anthony Macon Savannah-Chatham County Public Schools
Philemon Maliro Gwinnett County Public Schools
Stacey Orr Carroll County School District
Cassandra Robinson-Wint Savannah-Chatham County Public Schools

State Organizational Members

Mula Xavier Parent to Parent of Georgia
Nancy Sanabria​ Communities In Schools of Georgia
Kym Evans Georgia Parent Teacher Association (PTA)
Helen McCroskey United Way of Greater Atlanta
Rachael Oliver Georgia Family Connection Partnership
Emily Smith Bright From the Start: Georgia Department of Early Care and Learning